Machel Montano retained his Power Soca crown while Olatunji Yearwood walked away with his first title as Groovy Soca Monarch following a long night at the International Soca Monarch finals.
The results were called just after 4 am this morning.

In the Lotto Plus Power Soca competition, Montano was a clear winner as he had the entire stadium crowd jumping to his winning song “Like Ah Boss”.

Unlike previous years when he employed all sorts of tricks and gimmicks to win, Montano kept his presentation simple. He was driven on stage in his Monk Mobile and immediately launched into his song. Dancers, cheerleaders and acrobats provided the visuals for his presentation.

Granny, portrayed by Nikki Crosby, appeared to be Montano’s only real competition in that category. Singing “Go Granny” Crosby provided a bit of theatre and comedy throughout her performance that woke up the crowd.

However, when the results were called, Granny was announced as the third place winner, with veteran Soca Monarch competitor Iwer George in second place.

Like the Power Soca category, the winner was not a mystery. From the moment Olatunji took the stage and launched into his hit song “Ola” he was the clear favourite to claim the throne left vacant by last year’s champ Kerwin DuBois, who opted not to defend his title.

Dressed in gold and accompanied on stage by gold puppets and dancers clad in gold, Olatunji left the crowd chanting his name after his energetic performance.

When the results were called, Olatunji looked stunned as Nikki Crosby and Penelope Spencer hugged him and started shouting the name of his deceased mother and their friend, actress Mairoon Ali.

“We did it Mairoon, we did it,” they shouted, the tears evident on their faces.
Farmer Nappy, the pre-show favourite for the title came second.

The Results are as follows:

Digicel International Groovy Soca Monarch
1st Olatunji
2nd Farmer Nappy
3rd Ricardo Drue
4th Destra Garcia

Play Whe International Power SocaMonarch
1st Machel Montano
2nd Iwer George
3rd Granny (Nikki Crosby)
4th Shurwayne Winchester
Carib Breakout Artiste of the Year: Sekon Sta