The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor is an American award presented by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts to it is presented to individuals who have “had an impact on American society in ways similar to” Twain. Recipients of this prestigious prize include Richard Pryor, Whoopi Goldberg, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, David Letterman, and Eddie Murphy. Now, Dave Chappelle will ad his name to the list as the latest honoree.

In a statement, Kennedy Center president Deborah F. Rutter said: “Dave is the embodiment of Mark Twain’s observation that ‘against the assault of humor, nothing can stand.’ For three decades, Dave has challenged us to see hot-button issues from his entirely original yet relatable perspective. Dave is a hometown hero here in Washington, D.C., where he grew up. We’re so looking forward to welcoming him back home.”

Chappelle, a two-time Grammy winner for albums released of his Netflix stand-up specials Equanimity and Bird Revelation. He has also released The Age of Spin: Dave Chappelle Live at the Hollywood Palladium and Deep in the Heart of Texas: Dave Chappelle Live at Austin City Limits, though both of those were filmed prior to his deal with Netflix.